Skip to content

by MCHS Staff
August 18, 2026

Beginning in the 1880s, Lake Hopatcong developed into a popular summer destination, and the newly arrived railroads brought crowds to its shores. An assortment of 20th-century postcards in MCHS’s archives capture the halcyon summers when hotels, cottages, yacht clubs, and camps dotted the landscape.

 

The community of Landing in Roxbury was the location of the Lake Hopatcong railroad station and became a major entry point to the lake. Several stores and businesses opened there to accomodate travelers.

 

The Delaware Lackwanna & Western Railroad reached Lake Hopatcong in the 1880s. As it ran parallel to the Morris Canal, passengers could transfer from the train to boats to reach destinations around the lake.

 

Boats accessing the lake from the canal had to go through a lock to bring them up to the water level of the lake. A concrete dam was later built in its place after the canal was abandoned.

 

Opened in 1899, Lee’s Pavilion at Nolan’s Point serviced travelers arriving at the lake via the Central Railroad of NJ. Expanded over the years to include accomodations, stores, dance halls, and more, it was destroyed by fire in 1924. Quickly rebuilt, today it is the home of Jefferson House.

 

At first a popular spot for swimming, Bertrand Island was transformed in the 1920s into a much-loved amusement park that operated for decades before closing in 1983.

 

The steel River Styx Bridge, which crosses an inlet of the same name on the west side of the lake, was built in 1909 to replace an earlier wooden one.

 

Later known as the Alamac, the Hotel Breslin was constructed in 1886 under the guidance of famed New-York based hotelier James Breslin. It boasted 300 rooms over four floors and modern amenities including steam heat and electricity. Guests, who arrived via the hotel’s dock, could also enjoy boating and tennis. The hotel closed its doors during the Great Depression and was destroyed by fire in 1948.

 

Today populated by private residences, Point Pleasant was the home of a hotel, Justamere Lodge, built in 1910, and cottages built by The Point Pleasant Club, a group organized by members of a Newark church in 1888.

 

.

 

Did you enjoy this blog? MCHS is an independent nonprofit. Please consider supporting our mission at morriscountyhistory.org/donate or become a member at morriscountyhistory.org/get-involved/ to help us continue to preserve and promote Morris County history through programs, exhibits, and blogs like this.

Loading...