by Erin Feith, Research Assistant
November 19, 2024
Since its construction in the late 19th century, Morristown’s “Lindenwold” on South Street has been a pillar in local society, both through its inhabitants and connection to the development of the area. Part of a sprawling tract, the property was initially owned by George T. Cobb, who not only donated funds to establish Morristown’s first public school, but also became the town’s first mayor. From these roots, the site went on to play an active role in the education and recreation of Morristown’s residents that continues today.

Following Mr. Cobb’s death in 1870, his 172-acre estate passed to his only child, Julia Skidmore (1851-1897), and her husband. Several years later, when a fire claimed the Cobb homestead, the Skidmores decided to erect a new mansion elsewhere on the property. Completed by 1886, the two-and-a-half story gray stone mansion known as “Westerly” would be their home for the rest of their lives. During their relatively short lifetimes, they lent the surrounding grounds to the Morristown Lawn and Tennis Club (later the Morristown Field Club) and left a lasting legacy of learning to the community. For, upon Mr. Skidmore’s passing in 1905, a gift of $20,000 (~$717,000 today) was given to the Library and Lyceum with the condition that it became free for all local residents to enjoy.

That same year, John Claflin of the United Dry Good Companies purchased the Skidmore estate for $150,000 (~$ 5 million today), adding additional rooms and an indoor swimming pool. Renaming his property “Lidenwold,” after his favorite Linden trees which populated the tract, he often invited local children to take horseback rides across the property. Claflin was also concerned with the promotion of green space in the community at large, being involved in the development of parks, playgrounds, and clean-up projects of local lakes.
The Claflins remained at Lidenwold until 1947, when it was purchased by the Peck School. A private elementary school with deep roots in Morristown, the Peck School had outgrown its previous Elm Street location when the mansion came onto the market. Along with the spacious home, the surrounding acreage provided an opportunity for future expansion, and by 1948, the school fully moved into the South Street address. Today, Lidenwold remains as the centerpiece of the Peck School’s campus, continuing the legacy of its previous inhabitants by providing the area with a place to learn and play.

