by Erin Feith, Coordinator of Research & Visitor Engagement
May 13, 2025
Morris County’s 39 municipalities are home to a fascinating tapestry of historic sites recognized on the state and national level for their significance. Some famous, some little known, together they preserve the story of the people, industries, and culture that shaped our community. In this blog series, MCHS highlights the sites to be found in each town and how they contributed to the diverse and multifaceted county we live in today.

Reverend John Hancock House, Cider Mill, and Cemetery: Since the late 18th century, the Hancock family’s property served the Florham Park community, both religiously and industrially. After joining the Methodist Episcopal Church, patriarch Rev. John Hancock became a circuit rider, a clergyman who traveled thousands of miles a year across the state of NJ, and hosted prayer meetings at his home. Along with his ministry, he was a member of the NJ legislature, as well as a farmer and broom-maker. Following his death in 1854, Rev. Hancock left instruction in his will that the family burying yard be made public for community members. Today, it is the final resting place of several local families, as well as individuals associated with Drew Theological Seminary. By the 19th century, the Hancocks also became involved in cider production, operating a mill on the property. The mill that still stands today was built by William F. Hancock in 1880. Here, he made use of the latest technology, including steam-powered machinery and later electricity, to manufacture both cider and vinegar. Into the 1920s-30s, the family continued their cider mill operations, even developing an apple washing system that became a model for others upon the passage of new regulations, but ceased operations by 1947 as large-scale agriculture spread nationwide. Given its role in the community and its ownership by one family for over a century, the Rev. John Hancock House, Cider Mill and Cemetery were collectively added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

Little Red Schoolhouse: Preceded by a private school formed in 1740, the first public school in Florham Park was erected in 1831 as a “little red building.” As the community expanded, a new schoolhouse was constructed on the site by carpenter Willard E. Howell and masons B.F. and W.E. Conklin in 1866. While exceeding its $2,000 budget, the one-room, brick structure followed then-popular principles of Henry Barnard’s book, School House Architecture, including high ceilings and tall windows that promoted ventilation as well as a configuration that focused attention on the teacher. During its first year, the schoolhouse boasted 45-50 students. The growing number of pupils necessitated the building of a nearby structure in 1914, with the Little Red Schoolhouse continuing to be used for some classes through 1929. While its role as an educational facility ceased by 1935, the Little Red Schoolhouse has become a central fixture in the community, hosting WWI Red Cross sewing efforts, dances, and meetings. In the interest of preserving the site, the building was moved back on the property in 1978, following the widening of Columbia Turnpike. The Little Red Schoolhouse was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
For more historic sites, check out these blogs:
Mine Hill and Wharton
Madison, Part 1
Long Hill
Boonton, Part 1
Parsippany, Part 1
Chester Township
Hanover Township, Part 1
Mendham Township
Dover, Part 1
Did you enjoy this blog? MCHS is an independent nonprofit. Please consider supporting our mission at morriscountyhistory.org/donate or become a member at morriscountyhistory.org/get-involved/ to help us continue to preserve and promote Morris County history through programs, exhibits, and blogs like this.

