Skip to content

by Anne Motto, F.M. Kirby Curator of Collections
July 1, 2025

Morris County’s 39 municipalities are home to a fascinating tapestry of historic sites recognized on the state and national level for their significance. Some famous, some little known, together they preserve the story of the people, industries, and culture that shaped our community. In this blog series, MCHS highlights the sites to be found in each town and how they contributed to the diverse and multifaceted county we live in today.  

Dover in the 1868 Beers Atlas of Morris County. The Canal, Morris & Essex Railroad (later the D, L & W), and Rockaway River can all be seen crisscrossing the town.
Today, the Dr. Condict House is home to the Dover Area Historical Society.

Blackwell Street Historic District: Anchored by the intersection of Blackwell and Sussex Streets in downtown Dover, the district originally encompassed 77 contributing structures. Beginning in the early 19th century, the area was the commercial heart of the community and grew significantly thanks to its prime location on major transportation routes. The first boost came from the opening of the Morris Canal in 1831, and growth was further spurred by the arrival of the railroad in 1848. While some historic building in the district, like the Stone Academy, date to this early period, most were constructed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries at the peak of Dover’s reign as an industrial center. These include the Dr. Condict House (built around 1890 in what became known as “Doctor’s Row”), the Baker Building, the Stone Academy, Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Station (1901), and First Presbyterian Memorial Church (aka Hoagland Memorial Presbyterian Church, c. 1900). Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982, the district continues to be a prominent part of the community.

Baker Building (top photo): Built in the mid-1880s for local merchant William H. Baker, the building was originally home to the Baker Opera House, which had its Inaugural performance (The Bohemian Girl) on April 5, 1886. In the early 20th century, the Baker Theater was built across the street, offering increased seating and largely replacing the opera house. While the original building ceased to host performances, it continued to be home to various businesses. Restored in the late 1970s to early 1980s, it is a key contributing structure of the Blackwell Street Historic District and remains easily recognizable by its distinctive tower. The back wall also retains a late 19th-century advertisement mural for the opera house and Baker’s store that occupied the lower floors.

The Stone Academy today

Stone Academy: Considered Dover’s first public building, it was commissioned in 1829 by Henry McFarlan, iron merchant and one of Dover’s founding fathers. Over the years, it served as not only a school, but also a place of worship and public meeting house. In 1881, it was sold by the McFarlans and converted into a private residence. After it was slated for demolition, public outcry and a successful court case led to the building’s restoration in the late 1980s. Today, it stands across from the train station as one of the Dover’s oldest surviving structures.

For more historic sites, check out these blogs:
Mine Hill and Wharton

Madison, Part 1
Long Hill
Boonton, Part 1
Parsippany, Part 1
Chester Township
Hanover Township, Part 1
Mendham Township
Florham Park, Part 1

Did you enjoy this blog? MCHS is an independent nonprofit. Please consider supporting our mission at morriscountyhistory.org/donate or become a member at morriscountyhistory.org/get-involved/ to help us continue to preserve and promote Morris County history through programs, exhibits, and blogs like this.

Loading...