Skip to content

by Erin Feith, Coordinator of Research & Visitor Engagement
April 14, 2026

Ribbon from the 30th anniversary celebration of the Protectoin Hook & Ladder Co., 1904

Over 150 years ago, the spark of an idea grew into the creation of the Dover Fire Department. Following an 1873 blaze at a local carpenter’s shop, early discussions regarding the need for a dedicated fire corps quickly gained support, leading to the formation of the town’s first fire company, Protection Hook & Ladder Company, in February 1874. Three other companies followed that same year, and since then, the Dover Fire Department has continually adapted to meet the needs of the community it serves.

With its four companies established, the new department turned its attention to constructing a headquarters, and property was purchased for the purpose on North Sussex Street that had critical access to nearby supplies of water in the Morris Canal and Rockaway River. Opened in April 1875, the brick building with brown stone trimmings featured modern amenities, including gas fixtures, mechanized double doors on the hose and truck rooms, and a water tank just below the roof with pipes extending to the cellar. Notably, the decision was made to house all four companies in the same building, with each having its own parlor. Although equipped with individual entrances, the parlors were adjoined, allowing for large gatherings.

Fire warden helmet worn by John Jacob Eckhart, c. 1902

The department continued to keep abreast with current technology, updating equipment and systems to meet changing needs. In 1913, the original hand-pumped fire apparatus, reputedly given by Dover’s first mayor, George Richards, and its horse team, Mae and Blossom, were replaced by a motorized truck. The transition to mechanized vehicles begun by the purchase of this first White Motor Co. hose and chemical truck would be completed by the early 1920s. The department’s alarm systems also improved over time, evolving from a bell inside the station to home radio alarms, the first to be used in Morris County, in 1958.

The Dover Fire Department extinguishing a fire, mid-20th century

The department expanded alongside the town, and by the 1960s was in need of a new station. The original building was demolished in 1961 and the site became the home of an enlarged municipal complex, which includes a firehouse that now fronts Warren Street. Today, the Dover Fire Department keeps the embers of their history alive, continuing its long tradition of service to their community.

Loading...